Aaron Dessner Music


is a New York based songwriter/multi-instrumentalist/producer, best known as a member of the Grammy Award-winning indie-alternative band The National. Their albums Alligator (2005), Boxer (2007) and High Violet (2010) were named among albums of the decade in publications throughout the world. Their 2017 album Sleep Well Beast (which Dessner also produced) won the Grammy Award for Best Alternative Music Album. Dessner has made a name for himself as an influential producer, working with some of the most respected rock musicians on albums including Frightened Rabbit’s Painting Of A Panic Attack (2016), Lisa Hannigan’s At Swim (2016) and This Is The Kit’s Bashed Out (2015) which was hailed by many as the band’s breakthrough album. Other recent production credits include The Lone Bellow’s Then Came the Morning (2015); Luluc’s Passerby (2014), Sharon Van Etten’s acclaimed album Tramp (2012), Doveman’s The Conformist (2009) and the Red Hot Organization’s AIDS charity compilation Dark Was The Night (2009), on which Aaron collaborated with his brother and bandmate Bryce. A follow-up album, Day of the Dead, a charity tribute album to the Grateful Dead, was released in 2016. Aside from his work as a producer, Aaron co-founded and curates the music festivals Eaux Claires, Haven and 37d03d.